The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act requires Maryland employers with 15 or more employees to provide paid sick leave. Employers with fewer than 15 employees must provide unpaid sick leave. The law went into effect February 11, 2018.
Both paid and unpaid leave must be accrued at a rate of at least one hour of leave for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours per year, and allow carryover of unused leave that can be capped at a maximum accrual of 64 hours.
According to the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulations (DLLR), there are still several bills that could affect this law:
“The General Assembly is in session until April 9, 2018, and there are several bills that could affect this legislation. Although HB1 goes into effect on February 11, 2018, bills have been introduced that would substantially impact the law.”
“In anticipation of the February 11 effective date, the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation would like to highlight the following information for employers. Please be advised that some of this may be subject to change based on stakeholder input and any amendments to the law.
Banks will be closed on Monday, February 19, 2018. Please plan your payroll processing accordingly.
If you are a direct deposit or CPS Checks customer, please submit payroll at least one business day early to ensure proper funding of employee bank accounts.
Presidents Day Direct Deposit Deadlines:
Checks Dated On: Submit Payroll By:
Friday, 02-16-2018 Wednesday, 02-14-2018
Tuesday, 02-20-2018 Thursday, 02-15-2018
Wednesday, 02-21-2018 Friday, 02-16-2018
Payrolls must be submitted prior to your branch’s cut off time to be processed the same day. Auto-run payrolls will be processed early to ensure timely funding of employee bank accounts.
If you have any questions, please contact your Payroll Specialist at your Branch Office.
Non-Compliance Can Be Costly
In order to stay compliant with federal and state labor laws, employers must display labor posters in a conspicuous place, easily visible to employees. Labor law posters notify employees—and in some cases, job applicants—of their employment rights, including:
Penalties for non-compliance can run into the thousands of dollars. For example, violation of the posting requirements prescribed under OSHA can run as high as $12,934.
So how often do need to update your labor law posters to avoid citations or expensive penalties?
Whenever federal or state labor law changes are made, you need to update your posters. However, those changes don’t always occur on January 1st. Government agencies may issue postings before or after the effective date of the regulatory update. Minimum wage changes may go into effect mid-year. So buying a new employment poster at the beginning of the year isn’t the answer.
An easy way to ensure your business remains compliant with federal and state labor laws is to enroll in a Labor Poster Subscription Program. Then, you will automatically be forwarded new labor posters when regulations change under federal law and/or for your specific state(s).
Ready to subscribe and save yourself the compliance hassle? If you have questions, please contact your Payroll Specialist.
Take a break...
The Breakroom is the Corporate Payroll Services resource center for 'News You Can Use,' feature stories, holiday notices, regulatory updates, product announcements, commentary and more.